• Sunday, October 11, 2020

Our recent billing system update brought a new way for end-user login management that allows a single user access to multiple client accounts. 

This feature replaces the old sub-accounts but brings with it a more flexible way for customers to manage their accounts and grant access to it to other users.

 

What is an Account?

Accounts (formerly "clients") own products/services and represent for example your business or you as the billable party.

 

-------------------

What is a User?

Users have one or more associated accounts that they can access and manage. 

When a new account is created, a new user is created based on the account profile. 

This new user then becomes the account owner with separate controls to manage users' access to each account.

A typical example would be where each of a web designer's customers could represent a distinct account. 

The web designer or developer could log in as a user and access each of these accounts using a single set of credentials. 

However, the accounts themselves would not be connected.

 

-------------------

Who or what is an Account Owner?

Each account is associated with a single account owner. 

The primary client account is the account owner. 

Account owners have all of the possible permissions that a user can possess. 

They are also the only user who can send invitations from the account to new or existing users.

During checkout, users can choose to create a new account for the items in the cart. 

In this case, the system will assign account ownership for the new account to that user.

Logged-in users can choose to create a new account for the items in the cart during checkout. 

In this case, our system will assign account ownership for the new account to the logged-in user.

 

How does this help?

Well, it makes super-easy give a fine-grained access to each user that works with or for you even when you have 10 separate billing accounts.

It means that you can give a website owner access to raise tickets while preventing him, her or they from seeing anything about billing.

 

-------------------

To connect a user to multiple accounts at any time, you can send invitations from each account to that user or email address. 

 

The invitee will receive an email and must click the included link.

 

Please note that the invitations expire after 7 days.

 

If you send an invitation to an email address for an existing account, they can access the client account using their existing login credentials.

 

If the email address does not correspond to an existing account, they can create one.

 

Account owners can send invitations from the User Management section of the Client Area by following these steps:

 

Go to Hello, $Name >> User Management.

 

ocs hosting user_management

 

2. Enter an email address under Invite New User.

 

ocs hosting user_invite

 

 

3. Select Choose Permissions to select the desired permissions you want to grant this user or All Permissions to grant all available permissions to the User.

 

 

ocs hosting user_permissions

Click Send Invite.

 

 

-------------------

Logging In

When a user who is only associated with one account logs in, his or her or their login session will automatically be associated with that account.

When a user with more than one account logs in, the Choose Account page will display. 

The user can then select an account so that only information relevant to that account displays.

 

-------------------

Support Tickets

If the User you have invited have the View & Open Support Tickets permission, he, she or they can view and reply to the account's support tickets.

 

 

We hope that this makes it easy for you to use our billing system as a way to better manage the customers you serve.

 

Thank you.